Into Each Life…

On Monday, some details of my life caused me to become discouraged.  I rarely become discouraged: while I am not what some would call an optimistic person (I have joked that my personal motto is “Expect the worst: either you’ll be right or pleasantly surprised”), but I am tenacious.  I am not in the habit of giving up.  As a sports fan, if I commit, I stay true until the final score – I will not leave a baseball game until the final out has been recorded or turn off the Super Bowl even if my rooting interest is 25 points behind.  As a home cook, I find comfort in following the recipe, even if it requires a trip to the grocery store for select ingredients.  As the pastor of a small church, I am persistent in proclaiming the truth of God’s word anticipating that on any given (Sun)day another soul will meet the Savior.  This tenacity has served to foster within me a spirit of encouragement.

But life has a way of eroding encouragement, as when mistakes (or sin) on my part conspire with unsavory elements in our society and detoured my heart and mind toward despair.  You will find no details here of what happened on Monday, only an echo of how a day of darkness made me aware of the value of seeking the light.  I have come to the conclusion that God IS with those who travel through the valley of the shadow of death.  He was with me through the loving acts of my sympathetic wife: she made sure I was eating and staying productive when all I could see was an insurmountable obstacle.  He was with me through the providence of Tuesday’s men’s Bible study on Elijah.  He brought me encouragement through His children and through His word.

“…for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.”   Psalm 103:14

It is deeply comforting to know that God knows our physical form and remembers our physical frailties.  He knows we are not invincible, indestructible or indefatigable.  He knows we are subject to discouragement, depression and despair.  He remembers that we are weak in body, mind and spirit.  He remembers our general inability to resist the worldly and our general disinterest with the heavenly.  He knows and remembers all this…and ministers to all our needs graciously without finding fault.  He promises to give us wisdom when we lack it.  He promises to give us rest when we about to falter.  He promises to give us counsel and guidance when we are walking in darkness.  He promises to encourage those who are discouraged.

I am thankful that my times of discouragement are rare.  I am aware, also, that this is not the case for many.  If you are struggling with discouragement or depression, please take comfort in knowing that God knows how you have been formed and He cares for you.  Seek His provision, through His word and His people, to lessen your despair.  Reach out to those around you to hold you accountable in maintaining proper levels of rest, nourishment and productivity.  He will give hope to the hopeless, and He can help you.

Leave a Reply

