Changing the Calendars

For reasons I do not quite understand (something about licensing and ownership), our local NBC affiliation is changing channels – from channel 7 to channel 10 – on January 1st.  For a few weeks I will, by instinct, tune into the wrong station and then remember that things have changed.  It is a reminder that things are constantly changing.  Life is continually in a state of flux, shifting like waves in the ocean.  I have seen this in my own circumstances in 2016: our oldest son graduating from college and moving back home, our daughter graduating from High School and attending college in Washington, DC, spending 3 weeks at home over the past four months, our whole family moving from one apartment to another.calendar2016

Some changes are simple (like television stations or finding new locations for Christmas trees), while others are more challenging (dealing with new medication regimens and moving everything you own), but every change impacts life.  Some changes we make are restorative (such as eating healthier or improving our sleeping patterns) and others are destructive (such as picking up bad habits or ending a relationship).   As this year ends and another begins, many will be thinking about making changes, or resolutions, as a means of improving their everyday lives.  Seek to make the changes that are restorative.

My concern for myself, as well as those I love and serve beside, are not the changes I initiate, but the changes that come through uninvited means.  About a year ago, I made some resolutions, preferring to call them intentions, about trusting God more and praying more.  I had no idea that 366 days later I’d be in a different home with slightly different decor or that I’d be dealing with hypertension for my remaining days on earth.  I had little idea what it would feel like having a child living so far away or worrying about colonoscopies.   My concern is that I have no idea what lies ahead in 2017.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.  James 1:17 (NIV)

My hope, for the years that have passed and the year to come, is that God alone never changes.  Everything good in my life (and yours) comes from the immutable Father in heaven.  There is nothing that surprises or flusters the Lord of all creation.  While my circumstances (as well as my weight, my address and my blood pressure) may change, the one who knows my needs and desires will never change.  He will, as I follow Him and His word, continue to shower good and perfect gifts upon me, whether I understand them as gifts or not.  My hope is in God, no matter how my life may change.

Allow me to wish you all a very happy new year.  Whether you are a person who makes resolutions or not, I pray that all who are reading this will find the changes that the coming year brings redemptive and restorative.  And I pray that the God who never changes will grant you every good and perfect gift He has purposed for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

