Christmas Specials

We all enjoy a ‘guilty pleasure’ or two during the holidays.  For some of us, it has to do with baked goods; we cannot resist the buttery, sugary Christmas cookies.  For others of us, it has to do with questionable music choices; we are delighted when “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer” or “Dominick the Donkey” plays on the radio.  There are also those whose fashion choices are the issue; we find enjoyment in wearing gaudy and garish ‘ugly’ sweaters, complete with sequins and blinking lights.  One of my guilty pleasures is a stop-motion Christmas special produced by Rankin and Bass, “The Year Without a Santa Claus”.ywasc

Don’t get me wrong, I like all the Rankin/Bass Christmas specials.  As a pastor, I enjoy the reference to Jesus’ birth in “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” and the extra-biblical tales told through “The Little Drummer Boy” and “Nestor, the Long-eared Donkey”.  But despite its completely secular storyline, I love “The Year without a Santa Claus”.  I love Mother Nature (with her birdhouse dwelling in the sky) and her boys, Heat Miser and Snow Miser.  I love the mayor of Southtown, dancing and singing about snow in Dixie.  I love Ignatius Thistlewhite and his family around the kitchen table, unknowingly talking to St. Nick.  I love that the ‘socks over the antlers’ trick can fool a dog catcher into thinking a reindeer is a pooch.  I love the little girl that sings “Blue Christmas” near the end of the hour-long show.  I love it all.

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him.   1 John 4:9 (NIV)

I have no trouble confessing that, “I believe in Santa Claus, like I believe in love…just like love, I know he’s there, waiting to be missed.” I have no problem having a belief in Santa Claus (a transliteration of Saint Nicholas – a real man who sacrificially shared the love of Christ with those around him) and I have no dispute with those who, unaware of the greatest truth of Christmas, personifies the loving Christmas spirit as a ‘jolly old elf’.  I enjoy songs and specials about the magical workshop at the North Pole, where the dreams and wishes of the young (and young at heart) are made true.

But stop-motion Christmas specials about flying reindeer and a living snowman – and that Christmas before we were born when Santa needed a holiday – are still ‘guilty pleasures’.  They are flights of fancy that must not distract us from reality, but accentuate it.  We seek out figures like Santa, Rudolph and Frosty because we want to live in a world of unconditional love and grace.  These secular symbols serve to identify the need we have – an emptiness in our hearts – and not to fill it.  That void can only be filled by the gift of God that 1st Christmas – the incarnate word and presence of God, Jesus Christ.

I hope you have the opportunity to indulge in your guilty pleasures over the next two weeks.  However, I pray that these differing ways of celebrating Christmas are not an end unto themselves, but rather a means to appreciating the true joys of Emmanuel’s birth.  As for me, I’m looking forward to a little time with Jingle and Jangle…and getting ready for Jesus.

One response

  1. Mike —

    Very appropriate message … you are clever indeed.

    Decorating the church then having lunch together yesterday was great fun.

    Have a wonderful warm day.

    Bet wishes,

    Frank

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

