A More Perfect Union

Today my wife, Jeanine, and I celebrate our twenty-seventh wedding anniversary.  Our life together all these years remains a wonderful journey through the peaks and valleys of life.  We have enjoyed our share of highs and lows – birthdays and hospital visits, days on vacation and days on unemployment, nights of singing and nights of shouting.  We’ve now lived in six different places in two different cities, been blessed with four wonderful children and have shared more memories than we could possibly recount.  In all this time, I have come to realize that I am not good alone: underneath my veneer of independence I really cannot survive by depending upon the wits and wile of my self-determination.  I need someone beyond myself.mandj

All this reminds me of an incident a bit more than two weeks ago.  We were about to move from one apartment in the city to another and had rented a truck from U-Haul to assist us.  Because of the volume of college students entering the city, moving vans were scarce in the Boston area and we were required to reserve our vehicle about 40 miles away.  When we arrived at the rental agent’s ‘office’ (actually a car wash with a large parking lot), I gave my name and was promptly told that there was no reservation.  The rest is a blur – “call ‘Go U-Haul’”; disconnected; called again and disconnected again; “Your reservation was cancelled at five yesterday”; disconnected again; “We can get you a new truck but it will not be available for two hours” – except that I felt that the future of our move was at the mercy of an unseen authority.

As I stood in that parking lot, unsure of what to do to make our move possible, I realized my own limits.  I could not make it right through my own efforts or ingenuity…and that is when I slowly and deliberately chose to trust in the unseen authority (not the customer service representative at U-Haul but the Lord Almighty).  I determined to believe that either we were going to secure a moving van of some sort or God would give us another night at our previous residence.  It is a lesson that I am being taught daily: in the minute details of a truck reservation and in the broad strokes of married life – God is in control; I am always at the mercy of an unseen authority.

Now may our God and Father himself and our Lord Jesus clear the way for us to come to you.   1 Thessalonians 3:11 (NIV)

It is humbling to know that all that we have and all that we accomplish is fully dependent upon the guiding hand of God.  It is also comforting to know that all that we have and all that we accomplish is fully dependent upon the guiding hand of God.  My growing edge remains in being faithful – faithful to my wife (my earthly treasure from God) and faithful to the Lord (the One who bestows every good gift).  It is good to be reminded that He is faithful – as I celebrate twenty-seven incredible years with an incredible woman and as I come to end of my resolve in a lot in North Grafton and have only the Lord to rely on.   We all can stand to be reminded that God IS in control.

I thank God for all His many blessings, and today, in particular, I praise Him for Jeanine (indeed, my better half).

One response

  1. Mike — Beautiful sentiments and a wonderful picture of you and Jeanine. Wow! Congratulations on you 27th year of sharing life with Jeanine. Best wishes always, Frank

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

