Moving Words

The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.”  Genesis 12:1 (NIV)

By the time this is posted, my family and I will have moved the eight-tenth of a mile to our new apartment.  By the time this is posted, my family will have eaten our first meal and slept our first night in our new home.  By the time this is posted, the stress and nausea I have had for the last two weeks will have begun to subside…I hope.  I am writing these words on Tuesday afternoon, will load the truck (the reservation on which, praise the Lord, was confirmed this morning) tomorrow and unload the truck on Thursday, Lord willing.moving1

As I conclude the process of moving, I am struck by the following observations:

  1. In the task of packing, the three things I discovered we had the most of were clothes, photographs and loose change. I can understand the clothing (with 6 people and 4 seasons you gather a great deal of sweaters) and the photos (since you never want to throw a single one out); but the change was surprising (we seem to have found coins on every floor, drawer and flat surface); sometimes moving is important to discover the small treasures you never realized you had.
  2. We did not devote enough time to go through everything. We calculated in our minds how long it would take to go through memory boxes, school papers, the stuff that breeds in the backs of closets and kitchen cabinets and we ran out of days before we ran out of duties.  This made me realize two things: that we (personally and as a culture) keep way too much stuff, and that we all need to move every decade or so to realize all the wonderful things we have in the backs of closets (or in attics, garages, sheds, cellars or storage units); sometimes we need to remember how vast God’s blessings really are.
  3. I will never use the phrase, “Let Go and Let God” ever again – because I know I’d be a hypocrite if I uttered it. Moving has revealed to me that I worry about too many things – will the truck be available, will the truck be big enough, will the kids like the new place, will the furniture fit up the stairs, will the truck fit down the small streets of Dorchester (especially with the contractor’s dumpster in the street and the pickup always parked across from it), and what will happen if we forget or break or lose something we need?  God is always faithful and yet I am often fretful; sometimes we need to be out of control to remember Who really is.

By the time this is posted all will be settled and all the things that we’ve sorted, packed, recycled and worried about will have been resolved.  Thank you all who prayed for us and assisted us throughout this process…moving also reminds you of all the good people God has surrounded you with.

I just thought of one more thing: I hope I got the truck back in time and they didn’t charge me an extra day!

Leave a Reply

