Oh My Grad

My, how time flies.  It seems like just yesterday that I was posting on this page that we were taking our eldest to college.  It is unfathomable to me that it has actually been nearly four years.  Tomorrow, my wife and I will watch him walk across a stage to receive his bachelor’s degree from Gordon College.  All the papers and tests, projects and presentations have been made; all the notes and classes have been taken.  Jonathan is no longer a kid who has gone off to school. There is little doubt now – my son is now an adult.   grad

I thought about writing an open letter to my son, telling him all the things that he still needs to know in order to be successful in the world of the working – there are no small jobs, just small people; those you crush on your way up the ladder to success will also be those unwilling to prevent you from falling back down; if you do your best every time, you will sleep better at night – but I realized that I do not have many pearls of wisdom to offer.  As the diploma he’ll receive tomorrow signifies, the days of formal lessons are over and the days of application awaits.

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.   Proverbs 22:6 (ESV)

My hope is that what he learned at the Kenny, the Murphy, Boston Latin School and Gordon – and especially what he learned at home – has been sufficient for him to know the importance of being a good and kind person and not simply successful.  My hope is that it does not take him too long to understand that it is not the facts that he gained that provide education with its value; it is the ability to process those facts for the improvement of those around him that counts.  He was a smart kid when he began school 17 years ago; I pray that he is a wise young man now.

I asked my wife the other day, “How old will Jonathan be in your mind when we watch him graduate?”  For me, I have a feeling that the images will fluctuate.  I will see that week-old NICU patient, the six-year old soccer dynamo, the 10-year old baseball player.  It will be the kid I ate pancakes with after an emergency room visit, the boy his mother witnessed being struck by a car as he made his way to the school bus and the young man who drove off to camp for the summer.  I will see all the birthday parties and Christmases, all the awards and arguments and all the frustrations and fun that has brought him to this point.  I hope I can see it all.

Congratulations, Jonathan.  I am so proud of you, son, for staying the course, even when the way was difficult and the days were filled with doubts.  May the Lord bless your next adventure as wonderfully as He has your last.

Leave a Reply

