Thank God!

Now, our God, we give you thanks, and praise your glorious name.  1 Chronicles 29:13 (NIV)

As I approach my birthday (I turn 50 in 58 days), I have been ‘suffering’ from a mild mid-life crisis which reveals itself in moments of regret.  At those times I have voiced to my loving wife the things that I wish I had acquired by now and the things that I wish I had done by now.  She graciously hears my whining and graciously responds, “You should think about all that you have; you have a lot to be thankful for.”  So, as we celebrate Thanksgiving next week, allow me to share fifteen things for which I am thankful to God in 2015: thanksgiving

  1. I give God thanks for the people in my life who are better friends and better family than I am;
  2. I give God thanks that a relative’s 13-month prognosis has been extended to 23 months and beyond;
  3. I give God thanks for those who lavish me with gifts;
  4. I give God thanks for the soft jazz stylings of Weatherscan© that sets my feet to dancing many mornings;
  5. I give God thanks for the smell of spring rain, the feel of beach sand between my toes, the sound of fall leaves crunching under my feet and the sight of new-fallen snow;
  6. I give God thanks for a stable and rewarding position within a wonderful church in an extraordinary neighborhood in an extraordinary city;
  7. I give God thanks that I learned how to play the saxophone and the guitar;
  8. I give God thanks for the current gastronomic trend of gourmet burgers;
  9. I give God thanks for my ability, with simply my cell phone, to capture quality photographs of everyday delights;
  10. I give God thanks for gas that can be acquired for less than 2 dollars;
  11. I give God thanks for wonderful colleagues and the blessings I receive monthly discussing books I would never choose to read on my own;
  12. I give God thanks for twenty-six years of marriage, twenty-one years of parenting and about a million pleasant memories,
  13. I give God thanks for blue jeans and sweatshirts;
  14. I give God thanks for nine world championships in New England in the last 15 years;
  15. I give God thanks for Thanksgiving, that North American invention that allows me to stop and consider all that God has given me.

With all seriousness, I live a blessed life.  I am grateful for a wonderful family of origin, blessed with a woman who married me and gifted with four children who love me.  I am grateful that I have a good job that provides for my earthly needs.  I am grateful that I live in the United States and under a benevolent government.  I am grateful that I have a roof over my head, keys to a vehicle in my pocket and food in the fridge.  I am grateful because I have much more than enough.

What about you?  What can you share as we celebrate and practice Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

