Happy Birthday, Mum

Today is my mother’s birthday…and, no, I will not reveal her age.  As I think about Mum, I realize that, while she is many things, I tend to see her only as a mother.  She is smart (valedictorian of her High School class, I believe).  She is hard working (a master in as varied fields as retail, design, banking and insurance).  She is a college graduate (receiving a B.S. in sociology ‘later in life’).  She has marvelous culinary skills (being able to prepare dishes that rival those of master chefs while maintaining a tight budget).  She has been a member and leader in the church (serving as secretary, clerk and substitute teacher).  She is a sister, a daughter, an aunt, a cousin, a grandmother and a great grandmother.  But, to me, she is simply my mother.bday

All accomplishments in the real world aside, I know her as the one who kissed my boo-boos and soothed my rashes.  She is the one who took her boys to ride go-carts and swim in the ocean.  She is the one who forgot to save room for dessert when there wasn’t enough to go around.  She is the one who comforted my broken heart and confronted my stubborn streak.  She made birthdays and Christmases special despite the limitations of her financial condition.  She went to football games in November in New England to see her kid in the marching band.   She attended concerts, plays and courts of awards and cheered on a child with more passion than ability.  All this was done with little recognition, at least from this child, of the sacrifices she made for my benefit.

“Honor your father and mother” – which is the first commandment with a promise – “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”  Ephesians 6:2-3 (NIV)

Much has changed in the nearly 50 years since I first met my mother: we now live 1,300 miles apart, we don’t speak every day and I have a wife who will kiss my boo-boos.  I am tempted to say that I don’t need her anymore, but I know that would not be true.   I guess you never outgrow your mom: you never get so old that you no longer need the cheerleader in the stands, the champion in your corner or the virtually unconditional love that is found in a mother’s presence.  I am so grateful to God that He blessed me with such a special mom.

So, I appreciate the opportunity to indulge a selfish impulse in writing this week’s post.  Allow me to conclude by encouraging those who are reading this to contemplate God’s hand of blessing in granting you your mother.  If she is living, might I suggest you give her a call?  If she has passed, might I suggest you tell someone around you how wonderful she was?   God truly made something great when He made ‘mother’.

Happy Birthday, Mummy.  I pray that God will bless you as greatly as you’ve blessed me.

Leave a Reply

