Great Job!

This past week I realized, yet again, that I have a great job.  I had the opportunity to be with a great bunch of kids and volunteers every day at “SonSpark Labs”, the vacation Bible school written by Gospel Light©.  I got to participate in Bible lessons, play games, make crafts, sing songs, sample snacks and eat candy – AND I got to put on a lab coat and perform awesome experiments that demonstrated the wonders of science.  It was a great week of sun and fun and it reminded me that I am one lucky guy.slide3

In the midst of all the fun, we learned about gravity and that God not only created all that we see and experience, but He also established laws to insure our existence.  We learned about ‘cause and effect’ and that there are real consequences (separation from God) when we do things wrong.  We learned about motion and that we would have remained dead in our sins had God not chosen to send His son to ‘move’ us.  We learned about transformation and recognized that, with Jesus as Lord, we are something new and different.  We learned about chain reactions and that we can bring about change by sharing the truths of Jesus with others.

It brings a smile to my face as I think about some of the things we did at church this week.  We got to see what happens when we drop a watermelon from the roof and drop Mentos© into Diet Coke©.  We got to play with polymers and discover the dynamics of density.  We made (and ate) candy DNA strands and beakers full of Jello©.  We made rubber balls and painted with Kool-Aid©.  However, there is one more thing that brings me the biggest smile of all – we learned about Jesus.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.  If you really know me, you will know my Father as well.  From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”  John 14:6–7 (NIV)

As the church basement was filled with singing and laughter, I realized just how blessed I am.  I have been given the opportunity to introduce people to the Savior.  Sure, VBS is more silliness than substance, but it is still substantive.  That is something I have experienced first-hand for nearly 40 years, ever since I was just finishing 2nd grade and Patty Stanley invited me to VBS on “bring a friend’ day.  I was introduced to the Savior that summer (even though I didn’t accept His friendship for 15 years).  The truths that were taught that summer, in the basement of a Nazarene church in Brockton, have remained with me.  And now I have the privilege to share them with another generation of wondering and wonderful children.

I am a lucky man: I get to spend my work week having fun with a great group of kids and sharing about Jesus…but even better is knowing that I have a God who made me, who longs to be with me, who wants me to know Him, who saves me and who loves me forever!

God’s plan for you is Jesus.

Leave a Reply

