For What Its Worth

It all started with the sound; the coins that were handed to me had an unusual clank.  As I walked out of the Dunkin’ Donuts® with my coffee, I checked what was in my hand.  One of the quarters looked different; it was dull and worn.  Upon closer inspection, I noticed two things: the coin was dated ‘1943’ and the copper ring usually seen on the rills was missing.  A quick internet search revealed that this coin with a face value of twenty-five cents was worth ten times that amount in its silver content.  The quarter I got back in my change was worth more than the cup of coffee I had purchased.1943quarter

I can only assume someone possessed this quarter and recognized the minimal face value but neglected to notice the more significant intrinsic value.  Someone went into the same shop for a caffeinated beverage shortly before my visit and paid their tab, in part, with this rare coin.  Luckily, I sensed there was something special about the change I received, but I also sense that this realization is not my typical response.  I, too often, assess value on appearance and not substance.  Despite the well-used adage, I generally judge a book by its cover.

The fact remains, however, that we are worth much more than the value we appear to have.  Our worth is not quantified by our body image or our skin color.  Our value is not limited by our abilities or education.  Our true worth is found in what we are made of; it is found in our character.  Our character, the core of who we are, is rooted in the fact that we are made in the image of God.  We are not simply what we appear to be; we are the very image of the Almighty God of the universe.

All too often we feel insignificant, like pocket change; we know we have some usefulness, but not much.  In those moments we need to think about that coin on my desk, which the world says is valued at twenty-five cents but is actually made up of something much more precious and valuable and its worth is far greater than it would appear.  The world may place a value on you as well, but the substance of your makeup is greater than that.  No matter how small those around you may consider you, consider this: you have such value to God that He was willing to pay the dearest price to redeem you.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

You are not just a kid; you are a child of God.  You are not just an underling, you are an image-bearer of God.  You are not just a ___________ (fill in your own nagging insecurity), you are precious to God.  I have a quarter here that reminds me that it is not what you look like that matters, it is what you are made of that counts.

2 responses

  1. Love the analogy! I’m always hoping to get a rare coin, so luck was in your favor. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking long and hard about what it means to be image bearers of God. Do you think all humans are God’s children? I’m confused as to this idea of “adoption” if we are already God’s child. But, what else would a person be, if not God’s?

    1. Hi Eric, Thanks for the provocative question. I’d have to think about whether or not all those created in God’s image are children or not. Thanks for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

