Boring or Blessing?

Earlier this week I was blessed with an answer to prayer:

Thank you for your interest in being a contestant on “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.”  You have not been selected to be a potential contestant.  We appreciate your continued interest in the show and thank you for taking the time to audition with us.

On Monday, I went in town and took the test (30 multiple choice questions) to get on the show…and, according to my interviewer, did very well.   I was photographed and asked some general questions (what I did for a living, what I would do with a million dollars, etc.) I was told that I would get an email either way within two weeks.  It came the next day.   I have not been selected.  God answered my prayer concretely – “no”.1Thess4

I had a feeling I would not be asked to appear on the show.  My wife and daughter said it was because I did too well on the test and they were afraid of the possible payout (I appreciate their confidence in me, but it seems unlikely).  It seems more likely, at least to me, that I lead a boring life.  I have had the same position for 17 years and, while I may find my job extremely satisfying and my work extremely compelling, it is less-than-captivating to the viewing public.  I told the production assistant that I’d use the money to put my children through college and maybe put a down payment on a house; my answer, I realize in hindsight, was not going to light the world on fire.

 “…and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.”   1 Thessalonians 4:11–12

There is nothing wrong with leading a quiet life.  It is a virtue to work with one’s hands and pay your bills.  It is biblical to enjoy the wife of your youth and cherish your children.  It is godly to be good stewards of the gifts God has entrusted to you.  It is honorable to eat dinners together as a family and fall asleep while watching TV together at night.  It is respectable to be responsible.  Now, it may not be what game shows are looking for in contestants but it is what God is looking for in His children.

The only problem with making it through the first round of the audition process is that I began thinking about the possibilities: I started thinking about how I’d spend the winnings.   I started thinking that I needed the million.  But God knows better.  I am already rich: I have been given a great job (of 17 years, 12 days), a great wife (of 24 years, 361 days), a great family and a great life.  Some may call my life boring, but I call it blessed.

One response

  1. Mike — One of your best and most blessed articles. Several times I have also taken entry exams for programs, radio and TV . . . and also focus groups. Did very well financially in the focus groups as the sponsors wanted feedback, etc. Not so with the “entertainment” venues, as you explained, which I believe true. I’ll be in Monday the 15th to wash the floors. Did major cleaning (and messes, e.g. – ground pork in sink, too many flies, etc.) and much floor spot cleaning last Monday. Best to you and your family. Regards, Frank Date: Fri, 12 Sep 2014 13:08:48 +0000 To: fj10182003pt@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

