My Week with Mo

After a week of vacation Bible school lessons about Moses, I have a great appreciation for him.  He overcame a difficult childhood and rose to a position of influence.  He was selected to do a job he was not qualified to complete.  He was confronted with powerful Mosesopposition to the message he was commissioned to deliver.  He experienced amazing success only to have the people around him grumble and complain, questioning his leadership.  He was given the privilege of speaking directly with God and speaking for God, despite his weaknesses and character flaws.  Moses was a special man.

“But Moses said to God, ‘Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?’”  Exodus 3:11

Have you ever felt like Moses?  Maybe you were born into difficult circumstances and perhaps even were forced to separate from your birth family.  Perhaps you’ve had a difficult word to deliver or difficult decision to make and you knew it would bring about negative repercussions.  It might be that you have a weakness or character flaw that seems to reveal itself at the most inopportune times.  What did you do?  Did you cower in the corner or confront the challenges?  Did you sit silently or speak out?  Did you beat your chest and blame your biology or beg for forgiveness and bow before God?

As the pastor of a small church in Boston, I empathize with Moses.  God has called me to proclaim the truth of His word to worldly powers for the benefit of a people in bondage.  God has called me to minister amidst a few grumblers.  God has chosen to use me as His messenger despite my propensity to act rashly and respond gruffly.  I believe, though, that I am in good company.  Most Christians I know (and I know a few) have dark shadows in their past – some they were born into and some of their own design – that they’ve had to confront, face opposition from outside and (occasionally) from inside the family of God, and have something in their “makeup” that needs redemption.  Like Moses, none of us are perfect.

Like Moses, all of us can witness the miraculous, too.  While it is doubtful that the Statehouse will be filled with frogs or that the Charles River will part, it is certain that God will accomplish all His purposes and use people just like Moses, and us, to do it.  We have the added blessing of knowing what Moses only imagined – the full redemption of God’s people from every form of bondage brought on by humanity’s greatest oppressor.  As I learn in VBS this week, God has the ultimate plan and ultimate power, provides the ultimate rescue, deserves the ultimate trust and lavishes the ultimate love.  Through Christ we have been delivered from the bondage of sin and made free to live for Him.

I’m glad I spent the week at VBS with Moses, and the best bunch of kids in the world.  Thanks for all those who volunteered at and prayed for the SonWest Roundup.  Now, I feel I’m ready to speak for God – watch out “pharaoh”; here we come.

Leave a Reply

