Split-Second Timing

As a resident of Boston, I have been trying to watch the Stanley Cup Finals.  I say I have been trying because I just can’t keep watching.  It is too stressful – pucks hitting pipes and crossbars, numerous overtime periods, and the bounces and deflections inherent in hockey.  Because the teams have been whittled down by playoff rounds to the best two, arguably the best hockey of the season is being played this week in Chicago and Boston.   Because of the caliber of play, it seems that victory and defeat are determined in a split-second action, and in that flash the collective joy or dejection of the fans of those two cities are expressed.bruins

It is amazing how much can change in a flash or in the twinkling of an eye.  There are times that we close our eyes in a blink only to open them again in a different reality, a new set of circumstances.  A hockey game can be won in the twinkling of an eye.  People move from childless to parent and from single to married in a flash.  Communications can be made as quickly as touching ‘send’ in a text or e-mail.  Whether it is a car crash or a surprise birthday party, it is incomprehensible what can be contained in a single moment.  Are we aware of all that happens in a flash?

“…in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.” 1 Cor. 15:52 NIV

The apostle Paul wrote to the church in Corinth about what else can happen in a flash or in the twinkling of an eye.  In a flash all believers in Christ living on the earth will be fundamentally changed.  The perishable will be clothed with imperishability; the moral will be clothed with immortality.  Death will be swallowed up in victory and the power of sin will be vanquished.  In the blink of an eye God will change His people.  In a flash we will realize the deliverance God has promised for four millennia and be transfigured for eternity.

I’d like say I can imagine the truth of Paul’s words, that I would close my eyes as a finite, flawed and fallen prisoner to sin and open them a split-second later imperishable, immortal and sin-free.  I not sure I can.  I can appreciate and embrace the truth of God’s word, though.  Everything can change in a moment, in a flash or in the twinkling of an eye.  This should create in me a sense of peace and a sense of urgency – peace in knowing that any moment I could be with Christ in Heaven; urgency in knowing that any moment I could be with Christ in Heaven without some of those I know and love.

Everything can change in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye.  I hope that I can live with that perspective (and that the Bruins and their fans can live that way as well!)

Leave a Reply

