Adventure Awaits

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” – Jesus (John 10:10)

Due to the present snowstorm, my daughter and middle son had school today while nearly everyone else ouadventuretside Boston did not.  I might have to agree with my son’s sentiment (“this is stupid”) and I could have bowed to the pressure and said that they didn’t have to go.  Instead, I drove Beka to the bus stop at 6:40 and I walked David the three blocks to school at 8.  It was going to be an adventure!

Perhaps it came through the advent of electronics and video game consoles, or perhaps it is some genetic anomaly in my children, but I believe they have lost their sense of adventure.  Gone are the days of going for a ride and discovering something new; now are the days of going to the mall and buying something new.  Gone are the winter days of snow forts and the summer nights sleeping under the stars; now are the days of Netflix and the nights of “Dancing with the Stars”.  Maybe I have a redacted memory, but I remember walking to school in the snow (after hiding my boots or overshoes in a neighbor’s bushes) and playing in the snow until the bell rang and classes began.  I remember lighting fires in the backyard – never mind that.  I remember having at least a modicum of adventure growing up.

It saddens me that my boys may not have the adventurous spirit I had as a boy, but it saddens me even more thinking that I may have the adventurous spirit I had as a boy.  I realize that I don’t take the healthy risks I once did.  I once parachuted from a plane as a church fundraiser.  I spent 11 days canoeing the Allagash Wilderness waterway.  I drove from Boston to Fort AP Hill and back alone (and got frightfully lost in Washington, DC) to experience the Boy Scout Jamboree.  I quit a good paying job and went back to school to following the calling God placed on my life.  Where has that adventurer gone?

The truth is that God wires us for adventure.  Jesus wants to give God’s people the full life, and I must assume that God’s fullness includes adventure.  His written record of the faithful life includes sea voyages, battles, daring escapes, miracles, and death-defying deeds.  The Bible mentions adventurous giving, adventurous loving, adventurous preaching, adventurous serving – it is filled with people taking risks without being reckless.  Is God doing a different thing now in our hearts and in His church?  That is doubtful, considering that He declares that He is the same yesterday, today and forever.  He has adventures for those willing assume the risks and reap the rewards.

So, what adventure might He be depositing into your hearts and dreams today?

Leave a Reply

