Resolutions for 2013

clockOn Tuesday, we welcome in a new year, a calendar full of blank squares awaiting the events of our busy lives.  If you are like me, about this time last December you made a list of changes and commitments you were sure to master in 2012.  And if you are like me, you are now wondering where the time went.

I intended to maintain my 12/31/11 weight throughout 2012 and I succeeded (I maintained it and a few pounds more, which if you are keeping score does not count).  I made a plan to read a book a month and I succeeded in reading more than in 2011, but not close to 12 (again, no points for me).  I was adamant that I’d get a grip on my anger (life – 3, resolutions – 0).  I have a poor record in keeping my New Year’s resolutions, for I cannot seem to cross any off my list.

So this year I’m taking a new tact – I’m committing to following the Spirit’s leading and allowing Him to transform my heart and mind in the ways He promises.  Perhaps these are resolutions, but they are not going to be accomplished in my own strength but rather through God’s power at work in my life.  So, here is my list this year:

  1. This year, with God’s help I will listen first, speak second and get angry last (James 1:19): I like to talk, give my opinion and debate the minutia of life, but as I allow the Spirit reign over my life, I will follow His leading in listening to others more than in expressing my thoughts;
  2. This year, with God’s help I will pray continually (1 Thessalonians 5:17): Lofty as it may seem, I desire that the Spirit make my every thought, every action and every breath a part of my conversation with God and I will follow Him in expanding that conversation beyond a laundry list of self-interested requests;
  3. This year, with God’s help I will rejoice in the Lord always (Philippians 4:4):  Whether it be sunshine or rain, I am asking the Spirit’s assistance in seeing God’s greatest good in every situation and trusting that it will always be found;
  4. This year, with God’s help I will meditate on God’s word daily (Joshua 1:8): Spirit, help me get out of bed in the morning and help me quiet my mind at the end of the day with Scripture;
  5. This year, with God’s help I will treat my body as a temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 6:19): Whether this means dieting, exercising or adjusting my sleep patterns, I want the Spirit to help me be a living representative of His presence in this deteriorating world.

Happy New Year to all!!

Leave a Reply

