Seeing is …

“Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.” Psalm 119:18 (NIV)

 

Earlier this week I went for a check-up at the eye doctor.  Sitting in the chair, trying to read those little letters projected on the wall while the doctor clicks up different lenses, I realized how important the circles of concave glass that cover my eyes have become.  These lenses make things clearer and enable me to understand my surroundings.  Without the proper tools (eye-glasses) I would not be able to correctly navigate life.

As I sat in the doctor’s office, I was told that I cannot fully rely on my bi-focal glasses.  She told me that I needed either a progressive lens for middle distances or a second pair of glasses devoted for computer use.  To see things in the distance I need one lens, to distinguish small stuff I require another and now for in-between my eyes demand yet another.  If I choose not to oblige my faulty eyesight, the rest of my body will slowly but certainly mutiny – my neck and back will get sore due to the contortions I put them through to see clearly.  How has it come to this?

We all need tools to see things clearly.  This is especially true with our interactions with the Scriptures.  This is why we, as a church, are embarking on this journey called “40 Days in the Word”.  We need proper lenses to see the things that lie in the distance (such as the book of Revelation), the things that lie within our grasp (such as the parables of Jesus) and the things that lie between our fingertips and the far-away (such as the letters of Paul).  Our hope, as a church, is that we would use all the tools the Great Physician has prescribed and be able to navigate the rugged terrain of our earthly existence.  As the psalmist first beckoned, so we now are encouraging the church – Open our eyes!

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could see all the wonderful things in God’s law, the phrase used in the days of David describing the Torah (the Scriptures available to them)?  Wouldn’t it be awe inspiring if God allowed us to glimpse with clarity everything He has declared in His Word?  While the words of Psalm 119 may be poetic, the meaning is clear – God is able to improve our vision and our hearts ought to be crying out for greater insight.  In order to gain the insight of the Word, we must be willing to fix our sight on the Word.  Will you join me over the next 40 days, spending time in His Word and developing the tools of Bible study that will enable us to see His wonders, as we love the Word, learn the Word and live the Word?   Perhaps we can help one another avoid the obstacles and appreciate the beauties around us.

 

Leave a Reply

